Week 24: Day 1

Breakfast: Cereal, Strawberries, Milk, Water

Kashi GO® Original with strawberries and 1% milk. That’s right, I finally had something other than Kashi biscuits.

I’m definitely a serial cereal eater

Lunch: Turkey Sandwich, Orange, Water, Chocolate Granola Bar

Turkey sandwich with whole grain bread, reduced-fat cheese slice, turkey, and shredded carrot, but this time I skipped the light mayo and mustard and topped it with salsa instead (I feel like I did this a lot in the 90s. I also had half of an orange, and a Kashi® Chocolate Almond Sea Salt granola bar. I was going clothes shopping with my 10-year-old, so I figured I needed a little something extra to get me through.

Dinner: Polenta, Sausage, Peppers & Onions, Spinach, Veggies, Grapes, Water, Chocolate Cake

My mom also joined us for clothes shopping, and my younger daughter was hanging out with grandpa. We got done shopping pretty late, and decided to all have dinner together. My dad was getting Arby’s, but I really just wanted to have leftovers, so we all met at our house. Everybody else had Arby’s, and I had leftover polenta, sausage, and peppers and onions mixed with spinach and the tiny bit of leftover roasted squash and cauliflower from Day 6. I also had grapes, and chocolate-banana snack cake for dessert.

Interestingly, I was completely satisfied with my meal; I didn’t feel deprived, even though I was the only one not having fast food. I was so hungry after shopping, and it would have been really easy to give in, but I’m glad I didn’t.

Snack: Water

Because dinner was so late, I didn’t feel like I needed a snack. Plus, I had already had a couple of extras (granola bar, cake).

Exercise: 0 Minutes

I did feel exhausted after clothes shopping, but I don’t think I can count it as exercise.

How Did I Do?

Feeling good about today. Got plenty of water and fruits / veggies, made good food choices, and kept portions reasonable. Even when dinner plans went differently than what I had in mind, I stayed on track.

No regrets.

Leave a comment