Extra Recipe: Chicken Chowder with Chipotle

This was a “how can I use up what’s in my fridge?” recipe, and it was delicious. You sauté onion, carrot, celery, chipotle, cumin, oregano, thyme, and garlic, then add broth and chicken breast, then remove the chicken and puree the vegetable/broth mixture. You cook red potatoes and hominy (or corn) in the pureed mixture, then add the chicken (now shredded) and a little whipping cream, then fresh tomato, cilantro, salt, and lime at the end. The broth has a ton of flavor from the vegetables and spices, but also a little richness from the cream. There are a variety of textures from the broth, chicken, potatoes, and hominy/corn. The tomato, cilantro, and lime add a freshness and brightness. So good!

Will definitely be making this one again

Chicken Chowder with Chipotle

Here are my recipe notes:

  • I love the flavor of canned chipotle chiles, but I don’t like using just one (although I know I could just freeze the rest to use later). I used chipotle chili powder instead – about 1 tsp.
  • I added the garlic during the last 1 – 2 minutes of cooking the vegetables because I didn’t want it to brown too much.
  • I used frozen corn instead of canned hominy because that’s what I had.
  • Make sure you seed the tomato – just cut it into wedges, use your finger to push the seeds out of all of the little cavities and crevices, then chop the tomato.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment