Week 24: Day 6

Breakfast: Cereal, Milk, Water

Same breakfast as yesterday: Kashi® Island Vanilla biscuits with 1% milk and no fruit (none in the house).

Lunch: Soup, Toast, Water, Tootsie Roll

One can of Campbell’s® Chunky® Savory Vegetable Soup and some soup toast (less than 1 Tbsp. of olive oil spread on whole wheat bread and toasted). I finished with a midgee tootsie roll.

Dinner: Lasagna, Garlic Bread, Salad, Water, Mochi

I finally got to the store! I made Lazy Lasagna from the September 1997 issue of Cooking Light magazine and served it with garlic bread and salad, followed by a strawberry mochi.

Easy, cheesy dinner

The lasagna was simple, easy, and a hit with the kids. Here are my recipe notes:

  • The store was out of fat free cottage cheese, so I used 1%. I combined the cottage cheese with the Parmesan right in the container – one less bowl to wash.
  • I used a leaner ground beef than what the recipe called for (90/10), and may even try the extra lean next time
  • I didn’t use the whole package of precooked (oven ready / no boil) lasagna noodles – I used three noodles for each layer, which seemed like enough (four would have overlapped, which I don’t think you want with no boil noodles)
  • I used reduced-fat sharp cheddar instead of mild
  • I couldn’t find 26-oz. jars of pasta sauce, so I used 24 oz. When I added the sauce to the meat, I added some water to the jar, shook it up, and poured it into the mixture to get out even more sauce and add some liquid. I used Classico Roasted Garlic pasta sauce, which has 1 gram of fat per serving.
  • If I wasn’t making it for the kids (or when I’m up for some complaining), a good variation might be to add some sautéed veggies to the sauce mixture (onions, peppers, mushrooms, zucchini, tomato, eggplant…a lot of options) and maybe some spices to the cottage cheese mixture (pepper, parsley, basil, oregano, Italian seasoning, garlic powder…again, a lot of options). But, I’ll probably keep it simple for the kids.

Salad was just lettuce, shredded carrots, and grape tomatoes with light Ranch. Garlic bread was old brat buns that I had in the freezer that I spread with butter, sprinkled with garlic powder, and toasted in the oven while the lasagna was standing for 10 minutes (my younger daughter calls this “lasagna bread” and likes us to turn her hot dog buns into lasagna bread and eat the hot dog plain). I had half of a half of a bun.

Snack: Triscuits, Salsa, Cheese, Apple, Water

Guess I’m not changing this snack anytime soon – this time I had fresh fruit though.

Exercise: 0 Minutes

Nope.

How Did I Do?

I think it was another good day. Even though I didn’t have fruit with breakfast again, I had plenty of veggies in my soup for lunch and in my salad for dinner, plus apple with my snack. Lots of water, good portions and food choices (when I had garlic bread, I had a small piece; when I had desserts, they were also small). No exercise again, but hopefully I’m doing well enough on food this week that it won’t matter.

One. More. Day. Just so ready for weigh-in to see where I’m at and how close I am to being done!

No regrets.

Leave a comment